Survivors 

Let me tell you remember last year when I disappeared and I didn’t blog. Well I was in survivor mode. I was homeless in my car for two months. Steve Jobs, Harvey and Carmen Electra were homeless too at one time in their lives.  I don’t feel like a victim I feel  humbled and very greatful for ALL that I have. I won’t go into details on how I ended in the streets..it’s too long of a twisted story. At the time I was sick..I had cancer in the lining of my uterus but I still managed to come to work make my clients laugh and smiled like I always do. I didn’t miss my Christian meetings I missed 3 times the most. I did my makeup, payed bills etc. Some people knew others didn’t. Sometimes I would sneak a load of laundry in the back room at work and my coworkers would find a missing sock and ask me if it was mine ..LOL.  I would just smile and say “Oh! And  grab the sock and stick it in my purse. I would take showers at the gym, do my makeup at Sephora or mac. I was very tired from the lack of sleep. It’s not comfortable sleeping in a small Ford Focus…I knew Jehovah wasn’t going to leave me in the streets forever..I prayed, I cried, I was angry..but at the end he came through for me like he always does.. my childhood friend took me in and left me her apartment fully  furnished, clean, good hot water,comfortable bed. I can’t ask for anything more. I tell my story now because I survived the storm. I look at how pretty Carmen Electra is, how funny and successful Steve Harvey is and all that Jobs accomplished and I’m in awe. You see its not what happens to us but how thankful we are when our circumstances change. Are we going to make the best of it and keep pushing forward towards our dream or are we going to give up? The choice is yours. Be be very thankful for ALL that you have you never know when your coworkers are going to find your socks in the lunchroom 😊😇🤗

3 comments

  1. Sean Mungin · March 5

    I, too, have been homeless and sleeping in my car. It happened right after I left the military. I had no job. No food. No place to lay my head, except wherever I was able find parking and a lack of Los Angeles police. But here I am, 20 years later, and am the director of the West Coast offices of a company who is a federal contractor to help house homeless veterans such as I was in the past. I find it amazing how life tends to come full circle and have had many ups and downs during that time. But I owe all of this to God…He’s been good through it all 😊

    Liked by 1 person

    • talesofthechair · March 5

      Beautiful. And you still managed to stay positive and humble. Keep sharing your experience you never know who you are inspiring!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

