The struggle is real

image

When I first got out of Beauty College no one would hire me because I had no experience. I don’t understand the logic. I was ready to take on the world and humble enough go be told what to do…after a year of no avail..I went  to work at the Hawthorne mall at a store named Petries’s (clothing) we had to wear skirts and heals. My feet suffered so much I felt sorry for myself..standing all day in one spot, greeting people took its toll.

I decided to go to Andy’s Beauty Supply and take the job offer I refused a year earlier.

The owner was a perve but no one would give me a chance in a salon. He was always flirting and giving me compliments with his creepy eyes..he was married and I was 18 or 19. He was in his 5Os.. One day I lied and told him that my boyfriend was in jail for murder and that he was coming home soon. He left me alone 💪 That was my only way to get him to leave me alone.

I did not have many clients 10 the most including 2 of my highschool friends from Gardena High. Thank Goodness they gave me a chance. Till this day they are still my number one fans. They’ve been with me through thick and thin… love em.

I needed to hustle and bring people in the little salon. It was in a far corner dark and gloomy. I worked alone for I believe the first two years. I did not know how to mix bleach. I remember one time a client wanted highlites and I mixed something and it started to bubble and make noise. I felt like I was in a science class. I was mortified. I told her maybe the bleach was old..hehe…. She said she had never seen bleach do that and  left. I don’t remember ever seeing her again. I dont blame her.

I decided to make handmade flyers with a marker and regular paper..I would walk up and down the street handing my lil’ flyers, all proud of myself..nobody wanted them and the ones who did take em would crumble them in my face.. …to be continued my client is here..😂

8 comments

  1. talesofthechair · November 8, 2014

    Reblogged this on tailsofthechair.

    Like

    • justbeingmia · November 8, 2014

      Eve! I really enjoyed this. Blogging is an amazing way to get your story out…and you have a great one to tell! Keep up the great work my friend! Being a hair stylist was a dream when I was younger so I get to live vicariously through you! Love ya!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. celina · November 8, 2014

    Haha I love this! I think you should share more about the experiences from beauty school.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Nice cliffhanger, which is an art all by itself. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jcarroll08 · November 12, 2014

    Evy, I can’t believe your boss was such a perv!!! Smart thinking for telling him about your made up bad boy boyfriend!! You hustled, now look where you are!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Joe · November 14, 2014

    Good stuff. Keep blogging and continue placing people in seats to understand that to a client it’s just a cut or trim. To you, it’s art.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

